Fife Lake Rail Project, Town of Ogema finalists for 2010 Sask municipal awards

Kelly Elder
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Rail Project

On April 13, the Saskatchewan Municpal Awards program announced the finalists for the fourth annual Saskatchewan Municipal Awards Program.

 A total of 24 nominations were received for the 2010 awards.

Locally, the Fife Lake Rail Project, under the leadership of seven local municipalities and the Town of Ogema were nominated.

Vern Palmer, Secretary for Fife Lake Railway and administrator for the R.M. of Hart Butte #11, said, “We are honoured to be recognized and nominated for this award.”

Palmer explained the project, “In 2006, seven municipalities(five rural and two  towns), went together with Great West Railway and purchased the Fife Lake Subdivision from Canadian Pacific Railway.” 

Palmer said, “It’s been going quite well, we are maintaing railway services to the area.  We have been nominated in this Economic Development Leadership because by working regionally with all of the municipalities we feel that we have maintained jobs and services to the area.”

“We look forward to continued service on the line for our exisiting customers and our new customer White Mud Resources Inc.” said Palmer

The entries were judged by an independent selection committee consisting of; Senator Pamela Wallin; Bob Linner, former City Manager for the City of Regina and City of Prince Albert; Murray Mandryk, political columnist, Regina Leader Post; Holly Hetherington, Senior Partner, Executive Source; Jim Angus, Administrator, RM of Harris No. 146.

“The Saskatchewan Municipal Awards represent and recognize the leadership commitment of local governments to innovation, community and regional partnerships in addition to continuous improvement to provide quality service in and for their communities as they grow and prosper with the province,” Linner said. 

 The 2010 Finalists are:

Municipal Service Excellence

 – City of Regina – Service Regina


Economic Development Leadership 

– RM of Hart Butte No. 11, RM of Poplar Valley No. 12, RM of Willow Bunch No. 42, RM of Old Post No. 43, RM of Stonehenge No. 73, Town of Coronach and Town of Rockglen – Fife Lake Rail Project 

– City of Melfort – Stonegate Commercial Development


Regional Leadership and Partnerships 

– City of North Battleford – North Battleford Assessment and Stabilization Facility 

– REACT Waste Management District (47 members) – REACT Waste Management System

 Community Development Leadership 

– City of Yorkton – Yorkton Alliance of Asset Champions 

– City of Saskatoon – Immigration Initiative


Environmental Stewardship 

– RM of Canwood No. 494 – Specific Risk Materials Disposal Project

– RM of Corman Park No. 344 – Residential Septic Utilities

  Heritage Conservation Leadership 

– Town of Kerrobert – Municipal Office

– Town of Ogema – Saving Our Past for the Future

 The Awards luncheon will be held May 14th at the Ramada Hotel in Regina.  Tickets are $20.00 and are available by calling 306-525-4386.

Organizations: Fife Lake Railway, R.M. of Hart Butte, Great West Railway Canadian Pacific Railway White Mud Resources Waste Management Commercial Development Yorkton Alliance Ramada Hotel

Geographic location: Fife Lake, Ogema, Saskatchewan Regina North Battleford Prince Albert Poplar Valley Willow Bunch Rockglen Melfort Yorkton Saskatoon Kerrobert

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page